I’m Still Alive…and Knitting

Happy Thanksgiving all!  It’s been a while…finding time to update a blog is harder than I thought.  I have kids…enough said   Here’s what I have been up to the past couple of months:

I recently finished another great pattern from Carina Spencer!  I am scouring online to find the next perfect shade I want this in.  It’s called “Zuzu’s Petals” and it pays homage to the iconic film “It’s A Wonderful Life”.   It’s a mini cowl/shawlette that is knit in the round to produce a really nifty neckwarmer without all the fuss of it falling off or not laying right.  It layers perfectly and ends with a beautiful lace pattern.  I knit mine with Cakewalk Yarn’s Cherry Blossom colorway (sorry for the kitchen pic…this time of year that’s where the best lighting in my house is):

Zuzu’s Petals in Cherry Blossom

I love this yarn.  You really have to see it in person to appreciate it.  It reminds me of a watercolor painting of pink and white cherry blossom branches against a spring blue sky.  Definitely something to wear in spring, although for fall  I am envisioning this in pashmina…perhaps nutmeg or scarlet red to wear for the holidays.  Another exciting thing is that there is a hat that goes with this theme that I would also like to try.  I am not much of a hat wearer myself, although I do love making them, I might make an exception for this pattern.

Now that football season is over we have had a chance for a breather.  I made the turkey, my husband hung lights and decorated our tree (like 3 weeks ago…crazy man), and I look forward to taking my daughter to her dance school’s production of “The Nutcracker” this weekend.  Girls only!

I went for a run today and it was so peaceful.  Just me and the pavement.   As everyone is snuggled indoors with their friends and family, the outdoors had an almost ethereal silence to it.  The air was crisp and smokey from all the chimneys and stoves burning warm fires … all that was missing was a snowfall.  I took comfort in the fact that after being alone in my thoughts, I would soon join my little family in our own cozy house, and eat, drink, be merry.  I also took comfort in the (hopeful) idea that all the running I was doing would balance the enormous amount of calories I was about to consume.  All in all…best day ever in a long time.

Shopping and shop-wise…I will be avoiding the crowds this Black Friday.  I don’t want to spoil the good day with all the hustle and bustle and lines…just not for me.  I am however having a Black Friday sale in my Etsy shop…no lines required!  Everything is already marked down 25% off.  I am pretty excited to see how it will do.

http://www.etsyonsale.com/shop/LittleMagpieCo

Up next I will be making the “Quaker Ridge Shawlette”.  Ever since I made my whippoorwill shawl this summer I have been just dying to knit more.  I think I have found a new affinity for them.  I missed the knit along for this project, but that’s okay…it’s all about creating and interpreting.  Perhaps one day I might knit socially, join a group, KAL, and just knit with friends and friendly faces…maybe even gossip.  Until then, I am a solitary knitter.

Leave a Reply

